Manu Ginóbili - Manu Ginobili Spurs Magic 011 (cropped) NBA

Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2022 includes Manu Ginóbili and Tim Hardaway

Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2022 includes Manu Ginóbili and Tim Hardaway

  • Heat
  • Spurs
Apr 04
SW Creative
  • SportsWriters

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Saturday, April 2, announced 13 new members of the Hall of Fame Class of 2022, with the celebration and enshrinement set to take place on Sept 9-10 in Springfield, Massachusetts.

Two of the new members are former San Antonio Spurs guard Manu Ginóbili and former Golden State Warriors’ Tim Hardaway.

Shortly after Saturday’s Hall of Fame announcement, Ginóbili said that “it’s one in tens of millions” seeing his professional life of over 23 years is getting recognition.

“The odds are very, very slim and it just happened to me. I don’t know what happened, but I was the one,” the 44-year-old said. “I happen to be an important part of two very iconic teams of those couple decades of both FIBA and with the NBA. Incredibly lucky and fortunate to be a part of those two.”

The four-time NBA Champion began his career in Argentina in 1995, playing in his hometown until 1998 and going to Europe before San Antonio picked him 57th overall in the second round of the 1999 NBA Draft. Ginóbili played with the Spurs for 16 years until he retired in 2018.

Additionally, there is Tim Hardaway, who began his NBA career with Golden State (1989-1996). After the Warriors, the five-time NBA All-Star went on to play for other franchises, including the Miami Heat, the Dallas Mavericks, the Denver Nuggets, and the Indiana Pacers.

The 55-year-old Hardaway continued his basketball career as an assistant coach for the Detroit Pistons.

The other honorees are three-time WNBA Champion Swin Cash, former player and decorated coach George Karl, legendary college coach Bob Huggins, five-time WNBA All-Star Lindsay Whalen, head coach Marianne Stanley, decorated NBA player Hugh Evans, six-time NBA All-Star Lou Hudson, six-time All-Star and one-time champion Larry Costello, decorated coach Del Harris, three consecutive AIAW National Championship player Theresa Shank-Grentz,8 and lastly basketball superstar Radivoj Korac.

  • Swin Cash

    Swintayla Marie "Swin" Cash Canal is an American former professional basketball player who played professionally for 15 seasons in the Women's National Basketball Association .

  • Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

    The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is an American history museum and hall of fame, located at 1000 Hall of Fame Avenue in Springfield, Massachusetts.

  • Manu Ginóbili

    Emanuel David Ginóbili is an Argentine former professional basketball player. Over a 23-year professional career, he became one of only two players to have won a EuroLeague title,

  • Tim Hardaway

    Timothy Duane Hardaway Sr. is an American retired basketball player. At 6 ft tall, he was best known for his crossover dribble which was dubbed the "UTEP Two-step" by television analysts