Browns’ Kevin Stefanski gains two Coach of the Year awards

Kevin Stefanski is reaping the rewards for an amazing first season with the Cleveland Browns, as he was named the NFL Coach of the Year by two of the league’s top media organizations β€” the Sporting News and the Pro Football Writers America.

It was a phenomenal rookie year for Stefanski, as he led the Browns to an 11-5 regular season record β€” its best since 1994 β€” and its first playoff appearance in 18 years.

Stefanski is the first Browns head coach to earn the PFWA award since Marty Schottenheimer was named AFC Coach of the Year in 1986, and the first to earn the honor from Sporting News since Paul Brown received it in 1953.

Sporting News said that other coaches receiving votes by their peers were Kansas City Chiefs’ head coach Andy Reid and Miami Dolphins head coach Brian Flores.

While Stefanski’s final game this year turned out to be a heartbreaking loss to the defending Super Bowl champion Chiefs, he was rightly anointed for the job he did this season.

Stefanski acknowledged that he took pride in the season, but was quick to credit his staff for all the work they put into the team this year as well.

SportsWriters Collective


SportsWriters Collective


Rate this writer


Clicks: 968

Posts: 90

The SportsWriters Collective is a team of content creators who work collaboartively to create and enhance recent sports news to create high quality content experiences.