Bauer is first Reds pitcher to win the Cy Young Award

Trevor Bauer became the first pitcher in Cincinnati Reds history to receive the National League Cy Young Award, a remarkable achievement when you consider that the Reds are the oldest franchise in Major League Baseball. 

Bauer finished ahead of Yu Darvish of the Chicago Cubs and Jacob deGrom of the New York Mets to claim the award, which was announced by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America on Wednesday.

Mets ace Jacob deGrom finished third in the voting, which squashed his bid for a third straight NL Cy Young Award.

Bauer became a free agent  this season after turning down a one-year, $18.9 million qualifying offer. By rejecting it, he’ll now be tied to a draft pick compensation this winter, although that seems unlikely to keep him securing a considerably more lucrative contract.  He has left the door open for a return to the Reds.

He led the National League this season with a 1.73 ERA and 0.795 WHIP while striking out 100 batters in 73 innings.

NL Cy Young Voting

  1. Trevor Bauer
  2. Yu Darvish
  3. Jacob deGrom
  4. Dinelson Lamet
  5. Max Fried
SW Creative


SW Creative


Rate this writer


Clicks: 1907

Posts: 167

SportsWriters Creative is a team of content creators who work collaboratively to create and enhance recent sports news to create high quality content experiences.