Nats celebrate ’22 Minor League Award winners

WASHINGTON — As the Nationals’ season nears its end, the organization honored its future talents.

Six prospects were recognized on Friday as the winners of the Nats’ 2022 Minor League Award winners. This group includes three of Washington’s Top 30 prospects, as ranked by MLB Pipeline.

With family and friends looking on, the players were presented with their awards following the Nationals’ 5-1 loss to the Phillies at Nationals Park.

“For the players, it’s awesome,” said manager Dave Martinez. “It’s kind of a gratitude for how they played right all year long. When you win awards like that among your organization, that’s huge for them and their development.

“For me, it’s a good sign of things to come. We’ve seen some of these guys getting better, developing, and hopefully they continue to do that and they get up here as soon as possible and as soon as we deem they’re ready. … They’ve just got to keep knocking the door down there and get themselves in a position to get up here and help us win games.”

Hitters of the Year: Outfielders Jeremy De La Rosa (Nats’ No. 10) and James Wood (Nats’ No. 3, MLB’s No. 34)
In 101 games between Single-A Fredericksburg and High-A Wilmington, De La Rosa slashed .280/.358/.436 with a .794 OPS, 111 hits, 66 runs scored, 23 doubles, 11 home runs and 67 RBIs. He also stole 39 bases. The 20-year-old began the…

Click here to read the full article at MLB - Nationals >